Monday, July 30, 2018

The Darkness Series Review

The Darkness Series
(Darkness of Light, Fire in the Darkness, Dwellers of Darkness, Blood Beyond Darkness)
By: Stacey Marie Brown

Darkness of Light Synopsis
Freak. Witch. Crazy. Schizo.

Ember Brycin has been called them all. She’s always known she’s different. No one has ever called her normal, even under the best circumstances. Bizarre and inexplicable things continually happen to her, and having two different colored eyes, strange hair, and an unusual tattoo only contributes to the gossip about her.

When the latest school explosion lands her in a facility for trouble teens, she meets Eli Dragen, who’s hot as hell and darkly mysterious. Their connection is full of passion, danger, and secrets. Secrets that will not only change her life, but what and who she is—leading her down a path she never imagined possible.

Between Light and Dark, Ember finds a world where truth and knowledge are power and no one can be trusted. But her survival depends on finding out the truth about herself. In her pursuit, she is forced between love and destiny and good and evil, even when the differences between them aren’t always clear. At worst, she will incite a war that could destroy both worlds. At best, she will not only lose her heart but her life and everyone she loves. Once the truth is out, however, there will be no going back. And she’ll definitely wish she could.

I decided to write a review for the overall Darkess series as opposed to each individual book. Every time I read these books I become so addicted that I can't put them down and jump from one book to the next, so by the time I'm done reading them I have a hard time remembering where one book ends and the next begins. This is a new adult fantasy series so it's a bit edgier and certainly more sexually explicit than a young adult series. Sex is a pretty common theme throughout the entire series, so if you like your books a bit more reserved this may not be the series for you. I, on the other hand, loved it! You know how much I love me some good smut, and these books had it in spades. 

The series begins with Ember realizing that there's something different about her as she seems to be blowing things up and setting things on fire accidentally when she experiences extreme emotions such as fear or anger. While no one can really pin the bizarre incidents on her she is still punished for them by being made to leave her school and attend a school for kids with behavioral issues. Where she meets Eli. Eli is mysterious, sexy and hard to read as one minute he seems attracted to Ember and the next he seems to despise her. 

As the series evolves Ember becomes aware of the "Otherworld" and all the magical beings associated with it. We see her coming into her own as she discovers her powers and her heritage. Ember goes through many ordeals with her becoming the main target of the Otherworld. Both the Seelie Queen and Unseelie King are after her and Ember becomes the captive of the dark dwellers, of which Eli is apart of. 

Eli seems determined to stick with his clan's plot to turn Ember over to the Unseelie King in the hopes that Ember will sway the Kings odds of winning the war against the Queen. The Seelie Queen is determined to take over all of Earth and the Otherworld and rules with fear and torture  to keep her subjects in line. She has (to her knowledge) killed the entire Druid and Dark Dweller races out of fear of an uprising from them as they are some of the most powerful classes in the Otherworld. 

There were so many lovable and endearing characters brought into this series that it would take forever to talk about each one, so I'll just tell you about my favorites. Cal and Simmonds are at the top of my list, they're the comedic relief that I didn't know I was missing until they were introduced. They are pranksters who are unused to the real world and watching them try to acclimate themselves and learn about their surroundings is hilarious. I also liked Eli's dark dweller clan members; Cole, Cooper, Gabby, and Owen. They were the overprotective close knit family unit that kept Ember hostage but still treated her well. The clan shows how dedicated they are to their family and support and encourage each other to follow their hearts.

I was surprised and impressed with how much character growth, plot expansion and plot twists there were in this four book series. Within the span of only four books the entire world had changed for the characters and so much development happened with each character and their relationships with each other, I felt that I was always on the edge of my seat as there was always something happening. There were never any boring bits that I found hard to get through, even the parts of the book that didn't directly involve Ember were interesting and important in the events happening in the books.

I was excited to learn that there are actually three series that tie into each other; the Darkness Series being the first, the Collector Series is next and the last series is the Lightness Saga. The Collector series is about a different cast of characters, in the same city as the Darkness series, and the Lightness saga see's the characters from the first two series' coming together to form the last adventure. There is another book in the Darkness series called West. It's about a dark dweller names West who is a member of Eli's clan. As much as I liked West, the character, I wasn't a fan of West, the novel. I didn't find it as captivating as the rest of the series, and there were many dry parts that I couldn't get into.  

The author of this series, Stacey Marie Brown, is an indie author that I learned about from a FB group. The more books of hers I read the more I want from her. This year she has the last book in the Lightness series coming out and I'm also hoping for the sequel to Shattered Love, a contemporary romance that I reviewed a while back. I highly recommend checking out Stacey's books and taking a chance on her. You won't be disappointed.

Final Rating:
Probability of Rereading:

Thanks for reading!

Opinionated Bookworm

No comments:

Post a Comment

Broken Love Review

Broken Love (Shattered Love Series #2) By: Stacey Marie Brown Life shattered my bones, now it wants to break my heart.  Jaymerson Hollowa...